Summer's Gone bookmark

News & Events:


November 2015:

Wednesday November 11:   'Morning Bell' podcast goes online. Charles Hall talks about how his experiences
in the Australian music scene of the sixties and seventies found their way into Summer's Gone.


Saturday November 7:   'Foster's Little Bookshop', Foster: 11:00am.

October 2015:

Tuesday October 20:    Ballarat Library, 2:00pm.

Saturday October 3:   Coal Creek Literary Festival, Korumburra, 2:15pm.

September 2015:

The WA Book Tour:         
Tuesday September 22:      Victoria Park Library, 6:00pm.
Saturday September 19:     Margaret River Library, 1:30pm.
Friday September 18:         Donnybrook Library, 1:30pm.
Wednesday September 16:  Denmark Library, 2:00pm.
Monday September 14:      Busselton Library, 2:00pm.
Friday September 11:         Subiaco Library, 12:30pm.
Thursday September 10:    Bookcaffe Swanbourne, 2:00pm, AH Bracks Library Melville, 7:00pm.
Wednesday September 9:   The Grove Library Cottesloe, 6:30pm.

Monday September 7: Deer Park Library, 2:00pm. Part of the Brimbank Writers Festival.

August 2015:

Monday August 31: The Moat at the Wheeler Centre (Basement, 176 Little Lonsdale Street Melbourne.
6:15 - 7:15pm). Charles Hall reads from Summer's Gone. Three other writers on too: Honey Brown, Eliza Henry Jones and Georgia Robinson.


July 2015:

Tuesday July 7:  Colac Library, 11:00am.

Tuesday July 7: Melbourne Writer's Club, 6:20pm La Vita Buona, City Square.

June 2015:

Wednesday June 24:  Lakes Entrance Library, 2:00pm.

Thursday June 25:  Orbost Library, 2:00pm.

Friday June 26:  Bairnsdale Library, 2:00pm.

May 2015:

Saturday May 23: Myrtleford Library, O'Donnell Avenue, Myrtleford, 10:00am.

Friday May 22:
Shepparton Library, Marungi Street, Shepparton, 2:00pm.


Thursday May 14: Maffra Library, 150 Johnson Street, Maffra, 6:30pm.

Tuesday May 5: ABC Open Writers Festival in Gippsland. Venue is The Red Bookstore,
12 Breed Street Traralgon. Charles Hall will be part of a discussion panel on 'Publishing and Self-Publishing'.
Time: 6pm.



March 2015:

The Bairnsdale (East Gippsland, Victoria) launch for Summer's Gone was held at the bookstore/cafe
of Collins Booksellers, Main Street Bairnsdale, on March 5th. Charles' son Dan Hall of the band Taxiride
was on hand to set the sixties mood with songs from the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's album, a record that plays
a pivotal role in the novel.

The Melbourne launch for Summer's Gone was held at Readings Carlton bookstore on March 11th,
with celebrated Melbourne author and activist Michael Hyde doing the honours. Dan Hall was again
providing music of the sixties and beyond.


February 2015:

Summer's Gone was launched at the Perth Writers' Festival at the Tropical Grove in the grounds of
UWA, Saturday February 21st. WA State Manager of Musica Viva, Lindsay Lovering, was
there to launch the book. Summer's Gone is set in the Australian music scene of the sixties, and the original
line-up of Charles Hall's late '60s band Gemini performed their hit song 'Sunshine River' in a special
one-off reunion at the launch.

Former members of Hall's mid-sixties Perth band The Pharaohs also attended; Lindsay Lovering
was the drummer in that band.